All wars are bad

ONE of the first things I did in retirement was to offer to sell Remembrance Day poppies for the Royal British Legion.

One afternoon in early November 2012, my wife and I set up our stall in the foyer of Sainsbury’s supermarket in Swansea.

An international star, who lives in Swansea, was shopping in the store with her mother. They stopped in front of our stall. The poppies, wristbands and other Remembrance Day products were laid out on the table.

“Buy a poppy,” I said. “Wristbands are £2, silk poppies £1, traditional poppies any donation – we don’t mind.”

“£100 will do,” I said, as a joke.

“I usually give £100” she said. And opened her wallet, took out five £20 notes, handed them over, put her wallet away, and left the store.

Without a poppy.

Another woman approached. I’d guess she was in her 60s. She looked at the poppies and wristbands, suspiciously.

“Do you have any white poppies?” she asked.

“I’m afraid not.”

“All wars are bad” she said, and left the store.

Also without a poppy.

Leave a Reply

