Fancy A Pint? #4

THE retirement project: to sample a pint of beer or cider brewed in each county in Great Britain.

This is a beer I bought at Gloucester Services on the M5.

IMGP4766County: Oxfordshire.

What is it called? Haymaker.

Who made it? Hook Norton Brewery.

ALC VOL: 5%.

By the way: Hook Norton Brewery was one of Britain’s last working Victorian tower breweries. The village is known locally as Hooky; it has four pubs (The Bell, The Gate Hangs High, The Pear Tree Inn and The Sun Inn) all of which except the Bell belong to the brewery.

Brewer says: “Distinctive and pale. Plenty of Goldings hops during brewing give it a certain something extra – like sunshine on the tongue.”

I say: Strewth! Perhaps I should slap some Factor 30 on before I drink it. Anyway, I’d describe the colour as more copper than pale. It had a creamy head when I poured it, but that quickly reduced to a thin layer of foam. It’s not as citrusy as some ales I’ve tried, with a touch of sharp dryness in the aftertaste.

What did I drink it with? Ready salted crisps.

Fancy another? I think I’ll try something else.

Leave a Reply

