Fancy A Pint? #6

THE retirement project: to sample a pint of beer or cider brewed or fermented in each county in Great Britain.

AND so we come to the first cider to be sampled. I’m not really a great cider drinker; the current Mrs Feeney is more of a fan, so expect to get more sense from her than me (not unusual, according to Mrs F).

Anyway, I bought a bottle of this cider when we stopped at Gloucester Services on the M5 (if you are travelling on that motorway, these new services are well worth a visit. All motorway food stops should be like this).

I was intrigued by what it said on the label: “Pressed, fermented and bottled by Pershore College”. I knew education had changed a bit since my university days, in the recesses of the previous century, but I hadn’t realised the curriculum had developed quite so broadly.

It turns out that the college has had its own juicing and bottling plant since 1993. It produces more than 40,000 bottles of apple juice, cider and perry every year.

I poured a glass for each of us, and turned to Mrs F for guidance.

“Abattoir” she said.

“What, scents of the slaughterhouse?”

“No, that’s not it.” Another sip: “Market. It reminds me of Llanybydder Mart.”

“Farmyard tastes?”

“No. Earthenness.”

“Earthy?”

“Yes, an earthy taste. Very nice.”

And there you have it.

IMGP4828County: Worcestershire

What is it called? Avonbank dry cider.

Who made it? Pershore College.

ALC VOL: 7.1%

What it says on the label: Nothing beyond the above.

I say (well, more Mrs F says on this occasion): Really dry, really refreshing.

Food combination: We drank it with good old-fashioned salted peanuts.

Fancy another? Yes, this is so gloriously dry that I need a drink.

Leave a Reply

