Those awkward ‘A’s

THE balmy September weather has allowed us to really crack on with The Garden Project. The fencing company is now on site. To date they have used fifty-five bags of cement to create the concrete footings for the posts that will support the fence around the garden.

On the other hand, it means I’ve been neglecting my other retirement projects. But a couple of sharp showers this afternoon may be a sign that I’ll soon have more time to devote to indoor pursuits.

So it is time to get trawling through the global criminal underworld again. I am attempting to read a crime fiction ebook set in each country listed in The Times atlas of the world for my Kindle world tour of crime fiction project.

I wanted to visit all the countries in alphabetical order. But it’s proving tricky. Afghanistan and Albania were navigated without too much trouble. Algeria looked promising when I read a review of Yasmina Khadra’s “Double Blank”. Frustratingly, I’ve only been able to find a French edition, and I sincerely doubt if my O Level French is up to the challenge.

Now, after a quick diversion to take in American Samoa (surprisingly well represented thanks to American author John Enright’s ‘Jungle Beat” series) I’ve really hit the buffers.

I haven’t been able to find anything for Andorra, Angola, Anguilla or Antigua & Barbuda. Any suggestions gratefully received.

Meanwhile, I’m heading off to Argentina.

2 thoughts on “Those awkward ‘A’s

Leave a Reply

