Projects update

IT’S been one of those mornings when the Retired Life turns hectic but generally pleasurable.

First stop was at a picture framers, to have two Nick Holly prints professionally strung. Nick is a Swansea-based artist who is sometimes called “The Welsh Lowry.”

A quick car journey to The Range, one of those out of town stores where you can pick up mostly anything. I bought a tin of Derwent sketching pencils and a pad of cartridge paper, ready for the start of my Drawing & Painting class next week.

IMGP5023Into Swansea then, to buy a replacement printer ink cartridge (How Much?!) at an office suppliers. To recover from the shock, I made a quick detour to the wine shelves of Sainsbury’s supermarket, where I picked up this pair of Loire contributions to The Wine List. The Chinon is 100% Cabernet Franc. You can see from the label that the other is 100% Chenin Blanc.

A short trip then to the central library, to return two books for The Current Mrs Feeney. I’m currently reading “Village of Secrets” by Caroline Moorhead. The book’s subtitle Defying The Nazis In Vichy France explains its theme. While it’s not a project per se, History is definitely an interest. While my degree is in English Literature, I read History in my first year at university; I must be one of the few people who confesses to finding English Early Medieval History fascinating; who can resist kings called Forkbeard?

At the same time (is there no end to this retired bloke’s capability, I hear you murmur) I’m reading “Needle in a Haystack”, by Ernesto Mallo, for the Argentina leg of my Kindle World Tour of Crime Fiction project, to read a crime novel set in every country listed in The Times atlas of the world. I read this book several years ago, but I’ve returned to it with my project head on; it’s more about the sense of place that the author creates, than the crime plot.

(Incidentally, if you’re interested in poetry, you may like to take a look on Twitter at hashtag DylanThomasThursday. It celebrates the work of Swansea’s most famous literary son.)

Back home, to discover my tickets for the Royal Shakespeare Company’s 2016 productions of Doctor Faustus and Don Quixote have arrived. Mustn’t forget to book the hotel room.

Right, it’s time for the well-earned lunch break. But before I go...The Retired Bloke Quote: “TV – a clever contraction derived from the words Terrible Vaudeville…we call it a medium because nothing’s well done.” American humorist Goodman Ace, writing to Groucho Marx.

Leave a Reply

