The Wine List #35: Grenache

imgp6694My retirement project to sample wine made from each of the main grape varieties listed in Hugh Johnson’s Pocket Wine Book.

The wine: Pasquiers Grenache Noir, Pays D’Oc 2014, France.

Alc Vol: 13.5%

HJ says: “Widespread pale potent grape now fashionable with terroiristes, who admire the way it expresses its site.”

Label says: “A full and fruit-rich red from the Midi. The intense, dark berry fruit carries a touch of sweet spice and is balanced with a good level of tannin, adding structure and scale to the wine.”

Food combination: Nothing suggested on the label. I (on this occasion The Current Mrs Feeney declined my offer to share) drank some of it with TCMrsF’s renowned lasagne, and finished it the next night with a meal of black pepper-, smoked salt-, and garlic-chicken, served with roasted potatoes and sweet chutney.

RetiredBloke Verdict: First things first; there are no outlandish claims on the label of flavours and smells that would do justice to a fruit stall at Swansea Market: good. I have previously drunk Grenache blended with Syrah and Carignan in French wines, and (as Garnacha) blended with Tempranillo in Rioja. This was the first time I had drunk it a single varietal wine. I was a little disappointed at first; it was not as darkly intense as the label had led me to expect. Having said that, I enjoyed it with the chicken, but wouldn’t go out of my way to have a bottle on my wine rack.

SpencerFeeney @retiredblokes

 

 

Leave a Reply

